

Attachment 11(a)

MEETING: Annual Council

DATE: 18 May 2010

SUBJECT: Application of Political Balance Rules to the

Allocation of Seats on Council Bodies

REPORT OF: Local Democracy Manager

Purpose: To bring before the Annual meeting of the Council

information governing the allocation of seats for the

2010/11 Council year.

Contact: David Robinson, Local Democracy Manager. Telephone

01323 415022 or internally on extension 5022.

1. Introduction

1.1 Group Leaders and Deputy Leaders have received an earlier version of this report prior to submitting their respective nominations.

With no elections held this year, the distribution of seats between the 2 political groups has not changed. The split remains 20 seats to 7. The seat allocations are set out below.

2. <u>Current Structure</u>

2.1 This paper is based on the current structure, however the Council's current constitutional arrangements allow for either a 7 or an 8 member Scrutiny Committee. A 7 seat option was chosen in 2009/10. This paper assumes continuation of the 7 seat option:-

2.2 **Base percentages:-**

No. of Councillors: 27	% seats on Council	
Liberal Democrats 20	74	
Conservatives 7	26	

2.3 **Committees**. The allocation of seats in accordance with the rules is as follows:-

Committee	No. of Seats	Controlling Group	Opposition
Planning	8	6	2
General	15	11	4
Licensing			
Audit	5	4	1
Totals:	28	21	7

2.4 **Scrutiny Committee**. This committee is not listed above as although the political balance rules apply the calculation and allocation of seats is required to be done separately. The reason for this has to do with the legislation under which "Scrutiny and Overview" committees are constituted. The allocation of seats in accordance with the rules is as follows:-

No. of Seats	Controlling Group	Opposition
7	5	2

- 2.5 **Standards Committee**. This committee is not listed above as the political balance rules do not apply to the Council's Standards Committee. The Council's Constitution provides for both Groups to be equally represented on this Committee. This is in line with Government guidance on the establishment of Standards Committees. The Committee has 6 seats for elected councillors and 3 for independent members.
- 2.6 **Licensing Act Committee**. This committee is not listed above as the political balance rules do not apply. It is however politically balanced as a matter of local discretion. See the paragraph below as to committee membership numbers.
- 2.7 **General Licensing Committee and Licensing Act Committee.**No recommendation is made at present with regard to reducing the membership of these committees nor in respect of the number of standing sub-committee chairmen. The law requires there to be not less than 10 members and not more than 15 members of a Licensing Act Committee. The Council has previously agreed that the membership of both the Licensing Committees should be the same and that the same member should chair both committees. There is some benefit in being able to select members for sub-committees from as wide a pool as possible.

2.8 **Advisory Bodies**

Body	No. of Seats	Controlling Group	Opposition
Conservation Area	4 (or 3)	3 (or 2)	1
Advisory Group			
Grants Task Group	3	2	1
Cleansing and	2	1	1
Highways Forum			
Downland Forum	3 (or 4)	2 (3)	1
Totals:	12 (11/13)	8 (7/9)	4

In 2009/10 the Conservation Area Advisory Group had 4 members and the Downland Forum had 3 members.

- 2.9 Adjustments may be made to give the controlling group a majority of seats, however, past Borough Council practice has been to allow the opposition a greater share of seats on some advisory and consultative bodies. This currently ensures that they are represented on each body. It should be noted that in order to make the proposed allocations to the advisory bodies listed above a separate resolution of the Council will be required to which there are no votes cast against.
- 2.10 **Eastbourne Homes.** The practice recently established is that the non-executive directors on the board comprise 5 councillors, currently 3 controlling group and 2 opposition group. For the last 3 years, one of the opposition seats was allowed to be held by a former councillor (Mrs Ann Murray) for reasons of continuity.
- 2.11 **Other Task Groups and Boards.** So far as is possible, groups are recommended to retain existing membership so as to maintain continuity and allow members to continue or complete work already begun.

David Robinson Local Democracy Manager

10 May 2010

(der\P:council\10.05.18 ann\pol bal rep)